Baidyanath Tmple

Size: 750x506 PX   Download   |  
Apply frame

Share Link:

HTML Code:

Baidyanath Jyotirlinga temple, recognized with other name Baba dham and Baidyanath dham is one of the twelve Jyotirlingas, the most holy home of lord Shiva. It is situated in Deoghar in the Santhal Parganas division of the state of Jharkhand, India. It is a temple complex comprising of the primary temple of Baba Baidyanath, where the Jyotirlinga is established, and 21 other temples.

As indicated by Hindu convictions, the evil king Ravana worshipped Shiva at the present location of the temple to get the boon that he later used to wreak destruction on the planet. Ravana offered his ten heads one after the another to Shiva as a sacrifice. Satisfied with this, Shiva appeared to cure Ravana who was injured. As he acted as a specialist doctor, he is referred to as Vaidhya (“doctor “). From this aspect of Shiva, the temple derives its name.


According to Shiv Mahapuran, once Brahma (the Hindu God of creation) and Vishnu (the Hindu God of preserver) had a contention in terms of supremacy of creation. To check them, Shiva pierced the three big infinitive pillar of light, the jyotirlinga. Vishnu and Brahma went opposite side to downwards and upwards individually to discover the end point of the light in either headings. Brahma lied that he found out the end, while Vishnu accepted his defeat. Shiva emerged up as a second pillar of light and cursed Brahma that he would have no spot in holy ceremonies while Vishnu would be worshipped till the end of eternity. The jyotirlinga is the incomparable partless reality, out of which Shiva partly appears. The jyothirlinga places of worship, thus are places where Shiva emerged as a blazing column of light. Originally there were accepted to be 64 jyothirlingas while 12 of them are considered to be auspicious and sacred. Each of the twelve jyothirlinga destinations take the name of the prime diety – every viewed as different manifestation of Shiva. At all these sites, the essential picture is lingam representing the the beginningless and eternal Stambha pillar, symbolizing the infinite nature of Shiva. The twelve jyothirlinga are Somnath in Gujarat, Mallikarjuna at Srisailam in Andra Pradesh, Mahakaleswar at Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh, Omkareshwar in Madhya Pradesh, Kedarnath in Himalayas, Bhimashankar in Maharastra, Viswanath at Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh, Triambakeshwar in Maharastra, Baidyanath at Deoghar in Jharkhand, Nageswar at Dwarka in Gujarat, Rameshwar at Rameswaram in Tamil Nadu and Grishneshwar at Aurangabad in Maharastra.

About the Designer

Gajendra is an energetic web designer and developer with 10 years of experience in creating and maintaining functional, attractive website. He has clear understanding of modern technologies and best design practices. Gajendra has a good experience with Word Press, Magneto and Shopify.

More Wallpaper

Write a Review